And this is the way faculty development has changed

In Paragraph City, faculty get “developed.” The process is rather like pre-digital photography and may involve chemicals. But there’s “new” and “old” faculty development going on.

Consider these as steps to the new faculty development. (The old faculty development, you must remember, involves a kind of rumba that takes place on a training day. It does something like this: powerpoint – demo – small groups – big group. And it results in a boatload of paperwork, usually.)

  1. Yesterday I caught a link about teachertube in a blog. If you haven’t encountered it yet, think YouTube for faculty. It’s here: http://www.teachertube.com/index.php
  2. I shared it with a few people. Denise Burbey got back to me with a note about Lori Burch’s video on del.icio.us, something I’d heard of but knew nothing about.
  3. This morning I watched the teachertube video by Lori Burch, which had only been posted the day before Denise saw it. It’s here.
  4. What a great idea. So in about an hour I had my del.icio.us account up and my Favorites list imported and tagged and I was looking at who else had tagged the same sites.
  5. I found four other collections of e-texts, one of which I will probably use in my Writing About Lit course where I am making the lit anthology optional.
  6. And  that cost me about three hours of my time. No paperwork, I’m excited about other possibilities, I’m getting new stuff for my students, I’m learning new things myself.
  7. And it happened when I had a free morning, at my convenience.

And this is the way faculty development has changed. I like it.

Leave a Reply

Math with Bad Drawings

Math, teaching, copious metaphors, and drawings that will never ever earn a spot on the fridge

Incurably Stir Crazy

because life is too short to sit still

University Diaries

A million stories in Paragraph City. Some of them wander onto my campus.

SpeEdChange

A million stories in Paragraph City. Some of them wander onto my campus.

Classroom as Microcosm

Siobhan Curious Says: Teachers are People Too

Joanne Jacobs

Thinking and Linking by Joanne Jacobs

Confessions of a Community College Dean

A million stories in Paragraph City. Some of them wander onto my campus.

Ferule & Fescue

A million stories in Paragraph City. Some of them wander onto my campus.

